Search Artist by First Letter :

Hayes Carll

Trouble In Mind
Hump 047

  • CD1: 1. Drunken Poet's Dream
  • CD1: 2. It's A Shame (Album Version)
  • CD1: 3. Girl Downtown
  • CD1: 4. Bad Liver And A Broken Heart
  • CD1: 5. Beaumont
  • CD1: 6. I Got A Gig
  • CD1: 7. Faulkner Street
  • CD1: 8. Wild As ATurkey
  • CD1: 9. Don't Let Me Fall
  • CD1: 10. A Lover Like You
  • CD1: 11. I Don't Wanna Grow Up
  • CD1: 12. Knockin' Over Whiskeys
  • CD1: 13. Willing To Love Again
  • CD1: 14. She Left Me For Jesus

Trouble In Mind


On his new album, Trouble In Mind, Hayes Carll navigates his way through both stormy weather and calm, sun-drenched waters with ease, emerging with songs that melt even the hardest heart in town. (a feat he manages on the plaintive, world-weary "Don't Let Me Fall") or heat up a roadhouse (like the ruggedly strutting "Wild as a Turkey").

Carll's personality, emotional but never too sentimental, mischievous, funny, world-weary and sardonic, imbues every track of Trouble in Mind. He's never afraid to be vulnerable and direct, but follows this with the sharp sting of a wisecrack. Never is this tongue-in-cheek humor more obvious than on the closing track "She Left Me For Jesus", where a clueless lover is upset and suspicious over the changes in his girlfriend. "Now she's acting funny and I donít understand. I think that she's found her some other man. She's left me for Jesus, and that just ain't fair. She says that he's perfect, how can I compare?" "You know Iím always a little nervous when I sing that song. Like Ray Wiley Hubbard says, the problem with irony is that people donít always get it" say Hayes.

Perhaps at times they don't, but once they immerse themselves in Trouble In Mind they will get it, and much, much more.

Complete List of Hayes Carll Albums